Sugar, yes please.

There is truly nothing greater in this world than the joy your child brings to you. While the last week or so has brought some of the greatest highs, I have experienced some significant lows too. I try to keep the highs front and center, but I often find myself shaking my head at some of the nonsense in my life and some of the negativity that tries to latch onto me. One of the challenges I face, as do many others, is juggling all of my responsibilities. I get a lot of “you have a lot on your plate” to which I reply, “my plate is a platter!!” but hey it’s my plate so whatever. Everyone does this, so it’s not in any way unique to me, however, I not only want to and have to handle them, I want to do them well and with a good, positive attitude. I function well at a high activity rate, but every now and then one thing pushes way too far and it’s the straw that broke the camel’s back. I am reminded of that silly board game that was around when I was a kid where you literally kept piling straws in a plastic camel’s back and then when there was one too many and that damn camel fell, you lost the game. ha! Sometimes I feel like that camel (ok, not a great visual) and I’m daring people to put more on. So what happens when there is one too many…? I don’t have the luxury of hiding out from my responsibilities. I do try to do as many fun things as possible as a way counterbalance many of these difficult or upsetting things. Work hard/play hard may be a cliche but for me, it fits. I just don’t want to miss anything!! straw

So yesterday I was at maximum capacity for BS, nonsense, stress, aggravation, responsibilities, etc. A few things have been brewing and a few things have been tugging at me and I was just feeling a melt down come on. Not exactly a meltdown, more of an implosion where a good cry/sob was imminent. One of those times where I wish I had the ability to go home, get into bed, under the covers, and just get into the fetal position for a few days.  No such luck! I had to take the boys to the orthodontist in the middle of the day. Not the best timing, but what can you do; they were taking them at the same time so that helps but after being out of the office for two days last week, I was feeling very work overwhelmed.  They decided to take Bryan’s braces off and while that is exciting and great, anything with Bryan has to be choreographed properly. To make a long story short, we needed some lasering of his gums and some bonding which were all supposed to happen at that appointment when the braces came off. It was not scheduled properly by the orthodontist and that was about one straw too many for me. You see Bryan’s teeth had shifted previously after the braces came off because he would not wear his retainer and removed the permanent retainers multiple times. He had to get his braces put back on so you see this was sort of big deal. While we were trying to work it out, Bryan was so excited to get his braces off. The orthodontist’s office is an open room with many treatment chairs where lots of assistants are working on kids, in other words, a room full of about 12 people plus the two orthodontists who come in and out. Bryan was so elated, he grabbed Jason and me and the assistant and made us put our hands in the middle (as if we were a sports team getting ready to play) and he said “1, 2,3, braces off,  yay!!” We all lifted our arms up in unison. The whole office erupted in laughter and cheers and then I was struggling to hold back the love cry. He completely leveled me. How could I possibly feel anything but joy?? Get a grip Jane. Jason and I giggled and smiled and the whole thing was met with hugs and high fives. Everyone in the office, including other patients, assistants, office staff, doctors, etc. were laughing and smiling. After that Bryan had to have several injections in his palate for the laser and impressions and bonding. He sat like a champ. No anxiety, no squirming, nothing. If you know autism you know one thing: what is easy is hard, what is hard is easy. He never moved for a minute and sat there for his work for an  hour and a half. The minute he got up the anxiety kicked back in and he wanted to know about when he would get picked up from camp in August.

For me, a great reminder that no matter how bad you feel, no matter what is getting you down, that one drop of sugar can make everything sweeter.

Leave a Reply

