A letter to me.

You know all of the clichés; hindsight is 20/20, can’t look back, learn from your mistakes. I get it, no one knows what they don’t know, but it would be so great if you could just go back in time for some basic life lessons. April is Autism Awareness Month, so it’s always time to think about where we are on the journey now, as compared to when we first busted out our compass and started trekking forward. So what would I say to my younger self, the newish mom, absorbing and coping with all things PDD (Pervasive Developmental Disorder), then Autism? I think it would be pretty basic, but as most of us know the good stuff is always fairly obvious.

  • Listen with your heart. Sooo easy to get caught up in what others tell you. “you should try this” or “my kid did that”. Every kid on the spectrum is so different and most of these kids, particularly Bryan, have language deficits and cannot tell you exactly what they need or feel. Trust your mommy gut, feel your way through, it won’t let you down. If you know in your heart something is good or bad for your kid, go with it. My heart never lets me down.
  • Don’t judge. This is probably one of the biggest lessons I have learned. When you see a family struggling with their kid or if you see a kid acting up, don’t judge. I realize now that so many people have all kinds of personal struggles and each person copes differently. Just because it’s not my way, doesn’t mean I should judge that person. I have not walked in their shoes and vice versa.
  • Be open. Be open to new people, new things happening, new ideas. Be open to other treatments and therapies besides established medical protocols. I revered doctors growing up, and still do, mostly, but I learned that I am a smart person and just because you went to medical school doesn’t mean you know all. One little side note: if something looks like it’s too good to be true, it usually is…
  • Always show respect. When dealing with teachers, doctors, therapists, show them respect for their perspective, expertise,  and time. The old expression, you get more with honey than vinegar, rings true here. Each of these people interact with your kid in a different way and have different life and professional experiences. You don’t have to agree, you don’t have to take your kid back to that person, but even the  negative experiences have left me with some little nugget of learning. A very close doctor friend of mine told me a long time ago to see lots of different doctors. Each see different patients and you never know when something may trigger a reference or an idea for you. Autism is not black and white so things are always changing. You have to change with it and keep getting more info.
  • Slow down. I spent my younger years concerned with reaching goals. I still set and like to reach goals but with Bryan and with my adult self I realize the journey, the process, the pace, can be as important as the goal itself. I’ve said many times that raising a child with autism is like raising a child in slow motion. Things that typical kids achieve at a certain age don’t go that way. I have clichés for this too, it’s a marathon, not a sprint, but there is truth here. You need to make peace with the idea that your kid may not do things “on time” or at all, but either way, take a deep breath and enjoy him.
  • Acknowledge progress. Great story from yesterday. Perhaps this is what got me to blog anyway. I took the boys out to lunch with my mom and sister. Nothing swanky, just Toojays (deli/diner in SOFL). We have done this many times. Bryan was antsy in his chair and hungry and just a little off. Lunch was tense and then we left. Jason took Bryan swimming and all seemed a bit better. Around 4:30 Bryan was very agitated and hurt Jason. Bryan likes to dig his nails into us, clearly a sensory thing, and broke the skin on Jason’s hand. Here is where the good stuff happens. It was a little early for Bryan’s night meds but we encouraged him to take them. He did but I have learned that if he thinks you can get over his bad behavior, if you can acknowledge that something bad happened but you can move forward, he can calm himself down. I told him, “everyone has a bad moment. You now need to get over it and calm down.” I have also find that if I get even nicer, warmer, sweeter, he will calm down. If I get angry or upset, there will be a colossal melt down.Hmm, so am I acknowledging his progress or mine?? In any event, my younger self could’ve used this advice, although I have to say sometimes this is way easier said than done.
  • Open up. My parents are/were very private. Too private if you ask me. I learned that sharing with others helps others to share with you. Parents are the best resource for autism and by sharing my experiences I have had others share their experiences with me. Priceless, awesome, fantastic!!!  If you are an autism parent you will know that there is truly nothing better than another parent telling you the real deal on a therapy, treatment, school, etc. On Saturday I took Bryan to Golf Buddies. I started chatting with another Mom who I have known for years, but have not known well at all. I have watched her daughter at all of the buddy sports and she has seen Bryan. We talked nonstop for the entire hour. We tackled major issues, marriage and divorce, school, housing for our kids, etc. The hour flew by and when I left her I had that feeling of community, the feeling of “wow that lady is my peeps” kind of feeling. The warmth of that hour really inspired me to think about how truly lucky I am to have Bryan and all that goes along with him.

 

Leave a Reply

