Checking my resolve

2013
I am not big on New Year’s resolutions because I make resolutions all year long. Every day to me is an opportunity to improve on something, to start new, to dig deep, to get moving. I am always resolving to lose weight, eat healthier, exercise more, like everyone else. That is the first layer. Then I have my next layer of resolutions. I will be a better mother; more patient, more fun, more of the kind of mom that laughs off extra laundry and plays board games or wii all night. Ha! The kind of mom that creates fun speech games for her special needs child and thinks of creative ways to get her kids to eat veggies. Ok I’m full of shit, but I do mean, intend or resolve to do those things. I always intend to be a better wife too. Remember those commercials… I can bring home the bacon, fry them up in the pan…. and wife is in some hot outfit? And by hot I don’t mean an old grateful dead t-shirt and the sweats you bought right after you gave birth because they were nice and loose. Husbands yearn for the garters and thongs and we just drive home from work and see sweats…but I do resolve to do better!!!
I have not worked since December 21. I was worried that this time off would be bad. I know that sounds weird but Bryan plus no schedule usually equals disaster. Surprisingly enough, he has been “wonderful”. He has had his moments of anxiety, but he too has resolved to do better. Bryan, like most of us, will do better when he is doing better. He is destroyed when he thinks you are upset with him. But, because I keep telling him how wonderful he is, he is behaving wonderfully!! Am I shrink or what? Actually it’s a mix of positive reinforcement, maturity, excitement for his Bar Mitzvah and a break from school. Any other reason is all a crap shoot. Any way or any how it’s happening, I’m all good with it.The last day of 2012 I woke up with a migraine. The first day of 2013 I woke up with a migraine. I took my meds and got on with my days. I read nothing into this except that modern medicine rocks.

2 thoughts on “Checking my resolve

  1. If it wasn’t for bribery, we’d never be able to get our son to eat anything but Mac & Cheese, beans, Gold Fish crackers and tortilla chips. For NYE, we had appetizers. I made cheese sticks, quesadillas (I’m sure I spelled that wrong), jalapeno poppers and a huge veggie tray with Newman’s Ranch (the only dipping sauce he’ll eat). After the opening round, he had to eat three carrot sticks for each quesadilla β€” our compromise led to a great NYE πŸ™‚ Here’s to small, shared victories πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

