Will over skill

Love that expression. Credit goes to Muhammad Ali. I repeat this over and over in my head, like a mantra of sorts. It is the evolved version of the little red wagon and “I think I can”. I need to accomplish so much on a daily basis. I try to push myself to check things off a list every day. I do not always make lists on paper,but I always make mental lists. Family/husband, work, Bar Mitzvah, school stuff, medical stuff, exercise, diet, etc. I have to seriously work on myself every single day not to stay in bed and pull the covers over my head. I remind myself that I am capable. I try to think of my boys and tell myself they deserve a real Mom; not some lame ass.

Somehow when I think of Muhammad Ali and this great expression I also have a visual of LL Cool J (those abs are killer) singing “Momma said knock you out”. It’s a good one when you need to kick some butt; perhaps with a school administrator or obnoxious stranger staring you down when you are in a store with a loud kid with autism. For those of you who remember those Robert Stack commercials with him daring you to knock the batteries off his shoulder, I do walk around the same way. I let people know with my eyes and my demeanor in any public situation that if you even look at me or my kid like you want to say something, go away, back off. It won’t be pretty if you don’t. Anyway, I’m straying from the topic at hand.

I think this expression really applies to Bryan as well. He tries soooooo hard to please. He can literally will himself to behave well, to work hard, to focus when it really really matters. Or he can respond to an incentive if positioned properly. It is so tough for him sometimes but he does it. If nothing else, this truly inspires me and wills me to work harder. Perhaps his behavior is a model for me. Something to think about. This whole week I have been feeling sluggish, reactive not proactive. I don’t like that feeling at all. It’s like going through the motions without bringing your A game. I’ve watched a bit of the Dancing with the Stars all-star show. I see how some of the competitors like Apollo Ono, Emmitt Smith and Shawn Johnson bring their competitive nature to everything they do. They literally will themselves to win by staying focused. I need to channel that energy. I don’t have any mad skills at any one thing, but where I lack the skill, I definitely have the will. Back to the list.

Leave a Reply

