A Chuckle and a Tear

Introspection….

I never really read blogs before I started blogging. From time to time an interesting autism one might catch my eye but truthfully I just wasn’t hooked into the whole blogosphere. Now I read a few blogs on a regular basis and I love to read people’s perspectives and observations, particularly on day-to-day life or autism parenting.

When people have asked me, what is the point or focus of your blog I am usually at a loss for words (shocking, I know). There is a purpose; to let me get out some of the stuff I have bottled up. No, it’s to memorialize some of the feelings I have so I can track progress of the family and me. No, it’s to let people who care about me see the realities of a family with autism. No, it’s to keep a diary of my life for my kids. Ok it’s about all of this stuff but really what’s best about it are the comments, subscribers etc. Who knew anyone really cared about this stuff? I have gotten some really supportive and wonderful emails, messages, etc from people near and far.

I am always so pleasantly surprised when I receive comments from someone who I do not regularly talk to or who may not know me well or at all. Sometimes I feel like they must think I’m nuts but I guess that’s the thing, if you open the door, stuff comes out and you can’t or don’t want to control it. The people connection is the thing that I guess I am after, after all. The support from other people, whether they can relate or not to my ramblings, propels me.

I have a terrific friend/colleague/confidante at work that helped get me set up with the blog. I had never even heard of wordpress before. She gave me a gentle nudge and is incredibly warm, true and loyal. She said when she reads the entries she always has a chuckle and a tear. WOW. That is powerful because I think that sums up who I am and what I’m doing. My life is a chuckle and a tear because laughter and crying are really my coping mechanisms

3 thoughts on “A Chuckle and a Tear

  1. Although I don’t have a child with special needs, reading your blog helps me understand what it is like for you and other friends who do. It helps me understand how to talk about it or how I can support them. You write about your life with courage, honesty, and humor. Thank you for sharing.

    I think much of what you write about is applicable to parenting in general, and your blog helps me remember things that can get lost in the midst of all the busyness and stress. Accept your children for who they are and advocate for them when they need you. Focus on the good, even when living with them is very difficult. Find the people who see your child in more than one dimension, as more than just a label.

    My son had a lot of trouble with impulse control when he was younger. He used to get in trouble a lot and had social issues. He was asked to leave his first preschool. I will always be grateful to his elementary school principal who saw the good in him – the loving, caring boy – instead of labeling him as a bad kid because he had problems and wound up in her office. She set the tone with his teachers and always responded to my end-of-the-year requests to select the right kind of teacher for him for the next year. Although the situations are different, some of what you write resonates with my feelings during those very difficult years, especially with regard to how others related to my son.

    P.S. It was your mom who had the art classes in her basement, right? Every once in a while I get an image of that room, after all these years. I had a great time there.

    1. Hey Liz, thanks so much for your comments and for sharing your experience. I am sure those were tough years and they give you strength to draw upon as your son gets older. Definitely not my mom with the art classes but curious as to whose mom that was? Hmm, was it a Davis thing? I really appreciate your warm thoughts.
      Jane

      1. I wonder whose house that was in? It was definitely a Davis thing, and I wonder how badly I’m mis-remembering this, lol.

Leave a Reply

