great expectations

Jason left yesterday for sleepaway camp for the first time. I am so proud of him I can’t stand it. We met 3 boys last week, brothers, that are going to the camp. They live 5 mins away and their mom is one of the nicest women I have met in a really long time. She was so warm and welcoming and the kids were terrific. At the airport Jason held in tears, toughed it out, and gave us a great thumbs up as he walked toward the security line with the other boys. I held in my tears until he couldn’t see us any longer, then I let it out. I cried because I will miss him, because I want to make sure he is safe, because he is just a delicious kid. He is so thoughtful too. After the plane landed the counselor passed around her cell phone to let the kids call home and he was so upbeat on the phone, and so excited to get to camp, we smiled the rest of the day.  He asked about Bryan and how he was doing. This morning I saw a photo of him on the camp website, smiling and eating ice cream with a new friend. Seeing that photo really touched my heart. It’s true what they say, a picture is worth a thousand words. This evening we got an email from our friend who owns the camp letting us know how well he is doing, and he said “what a great kid!”” I am over the moon.

 

Leave a Reply

